Font size





Structure of the Courts

Structure of the Courts Schema Image

Privy Council

The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London is the highest Court of Appeal for Gibraltar and hears appeals from the Gibraltar Court of Appeal.

Court of Appeal

The next highest Court is the Court of Appeal. This Court is composed of an odd number of judges not less than three. The Chief Justice is an ex-officio member of the Court of Appeal but may not hear appeals of his own decisions.

Supreme Court of Gibraltar

The Supreme Court is composed of three judges; a Chief Justice and a further two Puisne judges. The Court hears criminal and civil proceedings, including Family Jurisdiction, Court of Protection, Admiralty Jurisdiction and Ordinary (Chancery) Jurisdiction. The Supreme Court hears appeals from the Small Claims Jurisdiction and the Magistrates' Court.

Subordinate courts

The lower courts are the Coroner’s Court and the Magistrates’ Court.  Below the Magistrates' Court, there are also tribunals for social security, tax and employment matters.